Breastfeeding

20 Aug

I have a thirteen month old boy and I’m still breastfeeding him! I never ever ever thought that would happen.

When I was pregnant and idealistic, as most first-time mothers are, I thought “I’ll do it for as long as I can. Six weeks at the most. He’ll be grand then.” We had a very down-to-earth ante-natal teacher who said it would be hard, but that generations of women did it, so we could too. She also said not to bother with pumping (at least at the start) as it was an awful lot of effort for very little return. I’m not sure how true that is, having never tried it.

Anyway, when we got to six weeks, very sore nipples and a bout of mastitis behind us, I thought “Six months, I can do this until he’s six months. I’m not going to start faffing around with bottles now.” The ante-natal teacher had given us a five foot long flow chart on how to prepare a bottle. It looked like an awful amount of work. Especially in the middle of the night. (I do wonder if all of the ‘rules’ on preparing bottles are a conspiracy to ‘encourage’ more women to breastfeed?)

Six months came and I said “I’ll keep going until he gets teeth. No way I’m feeding him when he has teeth. No Way!” He got teeth a week later. It didn’t make the difference I thought it would. Feeding him when he had teeth was not really very different to feeding him before he had any. And so we continued.

And still we continue today. My deadline now? Maybe Christmas. Or whenever he’s ready. I’m not sure I need deadlines anymore. The hard part is behind us.

I’ve found that the journey through breastfeeding has been pretty hard (rewarding, yes, but definitely hard). And that the journey was easier when taken in baby steps. If we get the chance to add to our family, I hope I will be able to take this journey again. And yes, we will be taking baby steps.
Eyes_Wide_Open_by_no_existence87

Eyes Wide Open by ~no-existence87 at deviantART

One Response to “Breastfeeding”

  1. cassonaquest August 20, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    Wonderful! That was my experience with my first! I kept thinking, another month, until he starts crawling, when he walks, we’re done. But we kept on going, and it was so easy. At eighteen months, I was ready to be done, so I weaned him, and he was absolutely fine with it. However, my new little one, six months now, is starting to wean himself. He will only nurse when he’s sleepy now, so I don’t know if he’ll follow the same course as his brother. Anyway, good luck and good for you!

Leave a Reply

