I’m a crocheter!

24 Aug

We had a sick little boy this weekend (diarrhea) , so plans to go to the pool at the zoo were scuppered. He was fine otherwise, and we maybe could have gone, but I’m not sure how swim nappies hold up to diarrhea and I’m pretty sure I don’t want to find out! But being partially confined to the house gave me time to finish this:crochet turtleDon’t look too closely, it’s my first ever ‘amigurimi’ and I wasn’t entirely sure what half the pattern was about.  As a result, his head is a bit bigger than it should be and had to be sewed to his shell. He’s in the fruit bowl because he’s not really able to stand unaided. How and ever, he was made with love and my little turtle recognised him for what he was before I had the legs and eyes on him. He stole him and ran off saying “Turtleturtleturtle”, which certainly did my heart good. Maybe now he’ll stop stealing the granny squares for the interminable and dreary blanket I’m making! But then who’ll do the dusting? He’s mad for dusting, brushing his hair and closing cupboards after me. Three things I don’t do. There’s no doubting he’s his father’s son!

5 Responses to “I’m a crocheter!”

  1. skippedydoodah August 24, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    I love it! He’s so cute (as is the other little turtleturtleturtle…).

    • turtleturtleturtle August 24, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

      Thank you muchly!
      I’m going to have to crochet a little army of animals to use up all of the stuffing I had to buy to stuff this fella!
      Oh well.

  2. Janine August 24, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    He’s lovely. I went on a course to learn to crochet a few months back but when I look at patterns they are complete gobblydegook!

    • turtleturtleturtle August 24, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

      Patterns are indeed gobbledygook! I have a reference book which helps me somewhat. Mind you, the I couldn’t figure out what the “mm” in the pattern for this fella was. My lovely book said “millimeters”! So, no help! Usually though………

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Look what I made!!! « Turtleturtleturtle's Blog - October 28, 2009

    […] Christmas Tree ornaments. Courtesy of Roxycraft. I ❤ Roxycraft and her designs (it would seem the turtle I made is one of her designs too). If only I had a child who liked cuddly toys, I could be crocheting […]

Leave a Reply

