Look what I made!!!

28 Oct

I have been revisiting the old to-do list sporadically, while I have “help”. I haven’t been making the progress I had envisioned though. So rather than get disheartened, here I am, jubilant with my successes. Little crochet Christmas Tree ornaments. crochet 004Courtesy of Roxycraft. I ❤ Roxycraft and her designs (it would seem the turtle I made is one of her designs too). If only I had a child who liked cuddly toys, I could be crocheting little creatures and things to my heart’s content. He’s not though. And there are only so many turtles one small boy could possibly need. Christmas decorations though, everyone needs Christmas decorations. I intend to send them a couple of weeks before Christmas to my parents the in-laws and my sister. With a note that will say “Sorry we can’t all be together for Christmas. We will be thinking about ye/y’all” (hint hint, don’t bother us). The exact wording has yet to be figured out. The underlying (subtle?) message will definitely be “Leave us alone!” This will be our first Christmas together as a family in our own home. So hopefully Santa (Santy) and his wonky hat (I’m still a beginner when it comes to patterns):

crochet 007Rudolph and his cheery nose

crochet 008And Frosty (and his inside out head!)crochet 006will help us have a peaceful Christmas, all by ourselves.

Fingers crossed I get another three “sets” (one for us too, of course) done in time.

2 Responses to “Look what I made!!!”

  1. Janine October 29, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    I would never have noticed the inside-out head. Love the reindeer. I have yet to work out how to decipher a crochet pattern so I’m very impressed.

  2. turtleturtleturtle October 29, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

    You can blame your not noticing on my mad blurry camera skills!
    Those patterns are easy, well they were once I “figured out” mm meant move marker. Single crochet (sc) is the business. Actually Santa’s hat is a nightmare (I’m still not entirely sure how to make it) so if you are going to make one, skip Santa. Rudolph and Frosty are easy easy easy. I tackled them first, otherwise I’d just have a pile of “Holiday wool” and nothing made. Go on, give it a try, you know you want to!

Leave a Reply

