What a difference a day makes….

6 Nov

Well, yesterday it would seem I was high on the joys of life. Or something. Not entirely sure. But I’m definitely over it today. So. Over. It.

Why?

The turtle and I go to a Creative Playtime “class” thing. On Friday mornings. In an effort to make friends. We haven’t been that successful yet, but anyway. It’s a mile or so down the road. Well within walking distance. Excellent. How and ever, this morning it was in a park 3 miles away. So I asked the hubby to leave us there before he went to work. And we would walk home. Good plan. Manageable. “No,” he said, “I’ll go into work for an hour. Then I’ll come home and bring you to the class. I’ll go too.” Hmm, I thought. “OK,” I said.

What do you think happened? I know you can see it coming. He called at 9:10 (class is at 9:30). He couldn’t make it. Something came up. He could try and pick us up a bit late. Would that be ok? Well, no. No, no, no, no, no. Today was going to be “exploration of texture” in paddling pools of spaghetti and whatnot (I forget the other things). There’s no point in being a half an hour late to that kind of thing. No point at all.

I wouldn’t mind, but if we’d followed my plan and he had dropped us off before he went to work, we could have done it. Or if I had known more than 20 minutes before we were due to be there I could have walked and he could have picked us up.

So I’m mad. I’m still mad. Even though it’s 4:15 and this all happened this morning. Even though I may well have had an inkling that this would happen (this usually happens).

I should have known better.

I should be able to drive.

I shouldn’t feel so impotent and disappointed over the head of a daft playgroup that I don’t even really like.

What kind of world is it, when you can’t have your child slobber in a paddling pool full of spaghetti when you want to?

2 Responses to “What a difference a day makes….”

  1. TheMadHouse November 7, 2009 at 4:06 am #

    Hmm when MaxiMad was born I couldnt drive and everything had to be within walking distance. We lived on the outskirts of a village and we did manage a couple of mums and toddlers and the library (that was 3 miles there and back), but I learned to drive when pregnant with MiniMad as there was no way I could manage a new born and 15 month old. I have never looked back since, no more relying on anyone else is wonderful

    • turtleturtleturtle November 9, 2009 at 8:06 am #

      I think it wouldn’t be so bad if it weren’t for an absolute dearth of public transport and footpaths that just stop randomly, only to take up again a few yards down the highway on the other side, with no way to cross the road. That and the heat, although it is cooling down a bit now.
      I am going to learn to drive before the Summer comes. And before we move. I’m not sure I’ll manage this lack of independence thing when I have a new place to contend with as well.
      Now, I just have to find my driver’s handbook yoke. Which I have opened a grand total of three times, yet somehow have still managed to lose. Oh dear.

Leave a Reply

