Someday I’ll be big, and then I’ll be a ….

18 Nov

Ever since I read the writing prompts for this week from Sleep is for the Weak I’ve had this awful, awful song from a TV character in my childhood rolling around my head. It goes

Someday I’ll be big,

Someday I’ll big,

Someday I’ll be biiig,

And then I’ll be a farmer.

God Bless Bosco. Here he is, in all his glory, to take a bow

And God Bless Irish television in the early 1980s. Giving us something concrete to aspire to. I’m pretty sure there were other verses, but I can’t remember them. I’m still a bit hazy on farming. There were other occupations too, if I remember rightly. The farmer, though, he stuck in my head throughout the years, especially as it became less and less likely that I would actually become a farmer. When you’re three years old, anything is possible. As you get older and people start asking “What are you going to be when you grow up?” the possibilities begin to narrow a tad. You’re left standing there, mute, with that tune from Bosco playing in your head

Someday I’ll be big,

Someday I’ll be big,

Someday I’ll be biiig,

And then I’ll be a …..

Waaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh!!!!!!! A what? A what? A what? I need an answer. Waaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh!!!!!

My stock answer was “A teacher”. I couldn’t imagine anything else. My life revolved around school and ever the work horse, I thought all of those holidays were something I’d quite like to hold on to. Forever.

I became a teacher, of sorts. More English Language Instructor, than teacher. I would hesitate to say that I “taught” anyone anything. Nor did I get the long holidays. It was fun. But I don’t miss it. People ask me if I’m going to teach here. “Nope.” Cue confusion. “What are you going to do?”

Someday I’ll be big,

Someday I’ll be big,

Someday I’ll be biiig,

And then I’ll be a …..

Oh God! I’m still not sure.

I like being what I am. I like being a mother. For now I have no career aspirations outside of that. But someday? Well, I’m trying not to live my life entirely in the future anymore. Someday I’ll do something, but today, tomorrow, and the day after that, I’ll be the best mother I can be.

I’ll be the mother that only I can be.

(This is writing prompt #1 Write about what you hope for ‘one day’ – As inspired by Not Such a Yummy Mummy’s beautiful post last week.)

5 Responses to “Someday I’ll be big, and then I’ll be a ….”

  1. Theresa November 18, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    Beautiful – even though I have no idea who Bosco is!

    • turtleturtleturtle November 18, 2009 at 10:06 am #

      Wikipedia says he’s on CBeebies now. So keep your eyes peeled for him. I may have to get the DVD for the turtle. It’s part of his Irish heritage, after all! 😉

  2. Josie November 18, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    Could so relate to this! I’ve only JUST figured out what it is I want to be when I grow up. But now I have no idea how to achieve it and still feel very young and small indeed.

    I love that being a mother is enough for you right now. I wish I could feel like that but I find myself wanting something ‘outside’. I fear it doesn’t make me a very good mother 😦 and makes you an excellent one I’m sure xx

    • turtleturtleturtle November 18, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

      I’m not sure about that, I’m struggling on, just like everyone else I imagine.
      I spent so long convinced that I would never have any children of my own (I even managed to persuade myself that I didn’t want any for a while) , that I have decided to enjoy the one I do have. And maybe someday have some more. They tell me there’s nothing stopping me now! We’ll see!

  3. Sean O'Dwyer April 10, 2013 at 8:39 am #

    It’s ‘Farmer’
    how Irish?!

Leave a Reply

