Doing nothing

17 Dec

Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I’m doing nothing. I don’t think any other mother is either. After all, we’re “doing the most important job in the world”. I have a happy, healthy little boy. He can walk, talk, feed himself and sometimes go to the potty. Not bad for a 17 month old. Yet the things I do all day, the things we “achieve” are not tangible. What do we have to show for a twelve hour day together? Nothing. And when I get asked “What did you do today?”, the answer escapes me. I can’t put words on it, so I end up saying “Nothing”. Could anything be further from the truth? Probably not. Yet I don’t have words for it. And I can’t “show” anyone what I’ve done. I think this is why I’ve started crafting. At the end of the day I can say “Look what I did”, in a way that I can’t with child rearing or housework.  It gives me a sense of satisfaction. I suspect seeing the turtle grow into a kind, responsible, intelligent, caring man will be much more satisfying but that will take a couple of decades. For now, a couple of hours of knitting or crocheting will have to do.

Hopefully, one day, motherhood will be valued and explained. Then I’ll be able to leave my knitting needles down and “do nothing”.

One Response to “Doing nothing”

  1. Josie December 17, 2009 at 3:55 pm #

    So often have days like that. I end the day with lists in my head of what I wish I’d done, what I wanted to do, but very rarely achieve it.

    I just console myself that it won’t be for long, that I will miss these endless days with my boy and have so much time I won’t know what to do with it all.

    xx

Leave a Reply

