Gertie

28 Dec

I got my sewing machine! Yay! Her name is Gertie.

I didn’t  get the chance to take her out of the box until last night though, what with the turtle being sick and all of the playing with trains that had to be done (the morning wake up call in this house is still “Train. Train. Go! Go!”)

So I have figured out how to wind the bobbin, what the bobbin is actually FOR, and how to thread the needle. I have given all of the different stitches a test drive and, as yet, I am not overwhelmed. All I have to do now is learn how to sew straight and work out the whole pressure thing on the foot pedal, so there’s less whizzing and more actual sewing.

I’m excited and want to start making something right now. However, I know what I’m like so I’m trying to pace myself. I will practice on random scraps until I am a little more confident. That way there won’t be a mad dash from the gates only to collapse in a heap miles and miles from the finishing line. The hubby is already talking about getting me a desk/table for sewing/crafting and everyone knows you can’t abandon things when furniture has been bought. That’s a rule.

It’s nice that he has confidence in me, but the pressure might become too much……….wahhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!

2 Responses to “Gertie”

  1. TheMadHouse December 28, 2009 at 7:11 pm #

    I got mine in September and it has been the best thing ever, I got loads of books about sewing for christmas. I can not and have not paced myself. I am more of a go right in and make my own mistakes!!

    We got a very basic desk/table from Ikea and it is great.

    • turtleturtleturtle December 29, 2009 at 8:59 am #

      I’ve seen a desk for $25 on Ikea’s website. Watch me go and get it and come back with $250 worth of stuff. My husband hates to hear mention of us having to go to Ikea. Even if he is almost as bad as I am.

Leave a Reply

