Missing

13 Jan

I do have a wonderful husband and the best small child in the whole world. And we have a great time. Still though, there are things I miss.

Things I miss about being young, free and single:

  • going out for the night
  • sleeping in
  • reading books from cover to cover
  • sitting around doing nothing

Things I miss from Ireland:

  • my family, no matter how crazy they drive me
  • friends
  • the friendliness of people, generally – people, strangers, who have time for a chat and who are not weird
  • the health system, flawed and all as it is, at least I understand it and can see a doctor whenever I want

The thing missing from my life here:

  • friends, real life people who’ll sit down across the table from me and have a cup of coffee or something. And just talk. Phones, skype, the internet generally, are all well and good, but actual human contact would be good from time to time. I am trying. Going to mother and baby groups and the like but I’ve yet to meet anyone I’ve exchanged more than ten words with. I’m hoping to try another, different one this week, so keep your fingers crossed for me!

For Sleep is for the Weak’s Writing Workshop. Prompt #2

2 Responses to “Missing”

  1. Josie January 13, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    I hope you meet some kindred spirits soon, it is so hard. I am lucky to have some very special friends but find it really difficult to make connections with new people in ‘real life’.

    Oh, and I miss reading books from cover to cover too 🙂

  2. TheMadHouse January 13, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    i hope friendship comes soon

Leave a Reply

