Sewing

18 Jan

Sewing…. it must be good for the soul. It has to be. Otherwise why would it be so bloomin’ frustrating?

I’m trying to make some “Huck Finn pants” from Weekend Sewing. Trying. Some problems I encountered last night:

  • the foot pedal wouldn’t work. The light worked but the foot pedal did nothing. I contemplated taking it apart. Wondered if it would void my warranty. Wondered what my warranty was. So I googled and googled. For almost an hour. Then the hubby came in and I told him my machine wasn’t working. “Look!” I said, “Here, I’ll try another outlet, just in case”.  What happened? It worked, no bother. It would seem we live “in the house that Jack built.” There was some swearing. Blooming house! Grrrr!!
  • I had sewn the two legs of the pants together on the machine’s last outing. Instead of the crotch. With the smallest stitches known to man. I hadn’t changed the stitch length setting. I hadn’t even noticed the dial. The material was an off cut and I have none to spare. I spent over half an hour trying to unpick the stitches, before I gave up.
  • I remeasured my pieces against the pattern. Luckily, I had cut a generous seam allowance. So I was able to cut off the bit I had made the mistake on. And sew the actual crotch this time.
  • Then the bobbin ran out of thread. Cue 10 minutes of bobbin fiddle faddling.

And I now, after hours of frustration and swearing have the skeleton of a pair of pants. I suspect they’re sewn up wrong, but I’m painstakingly ignoring any and all flaws. As soon as I figure out how to topstitch a seam that has already been sewn, I’ll be ready for hems and elastic. Then I’ll bribe the turtle into wearing them with chocolate.

Crafty!

4 Responses to “Sewing”

  1. Janine January 18, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    I made my little fella a pair of trousers which had one leg inside out. Fortunately, toddlers don’t notice what state their seams are in. I don’t think I’m a natural at sewing, which is why there’s a large pile of fabric cluttering up the dining table waiting to be turned into curtains.

    • turtleturtleturtle January 18, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

      I’m sure he won’t notice. It’s me. This sewing mallarkey is interfering with my perfectionism and cluttering up half the house. I guess I’ll have to practice more. Or throw the machine in the skip, something which was very close to happening last night.

  2. TheMadHouse January 18, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    Oh I really fancy that book!! You must have loads of Fabric to choose from being in the USA and no duty to pay.

    I have just sewn my first table mat!! I hant even attenpted trousers yet. I am impressed

    • turtleturtleturtle January 18, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

      There is a fair bit of fabric to choose from. If I knew what I was doing, the choice’d be great. As it is, it’s a bit overwhelming.
      As for the book, it seems really good – to me. I got it from bookdepository.com, which I love, love, love!

Leave a Reply

