Modern “conveniences”

22 Jan

I’m doing it. That’s it. I’m retiring the dishwasher. I’m sick of it. Reducing my workload, my ass. I have a rather persnickety husband and dishes are as clean as a whistle going in. Honestly. Clean as a whistle. People (ILs, my family) have looked into the dishwasher and asked “Are these clean?” Usually the answer is “No” because they haven’t run through the dishwasher. But we all know that they are, for all intents and purposes, “clean“. That’s why they laugh. The hubby has even been known to ask if the dishes are clean. And I have been known to answer “Yes….but they haven’t been through the dishwasher”.

I don’t like using all of that water and electricity. I dislike how water pools in bowls and things, even though they are supposed to come out “dry”.  And sometimes it melts things!! Finally, I hate unloading the blooming thing. It’s not “back breaking”, but it’s as close as it gets for me.

So, tomorrow I’m buying a dish rack. Things will be washed. Put in the rack. Perhaps dried with a dish towel. Perhaps air dried. And probably put away. Aaaaaaaaahh!

It may not be “convenient”, but it will be simplified.

Now, how to convince the hubby…….?

2 Responses to “Modern “conveniences””

  1. TheMadHouse January 22, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    MadDad has the responsibility for the dishwasher, I just load it, he unloads and pops it away!!

    Saying that I still handwash things that we dont have enough of during the day and I always wash my tea cup

    • turtleturtleturtle January 23, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

      But everything is spotless going in. SPOTLESS. Going IN.
      Drives me a bit bonkers.
      I have broached the whole “No dishwasher” thing with the hubby and he has looked at me skeptically and said “How long will that last?” Little does he know that I lasted 30 years without a dishwasher and have only had one the past few months, so I think it will last a very long time. Unless I find one I get along with better….

Leave a Reply

