Paaaaaaaaint!

4 Feb

We were at the painting again. Himself demanded it.

Seeing as Valentines’ Day is on its way and American custom seems to demand Valentines’ cards for all and sundry, I decided to give carrot printing a try. I dutifully cut hearts into a carrot. It took ages. I blame the tools. We only have serrated knives here in the turtle household. I don’t know how things would work out with ‘proper’ knives, but I’m imagining a whole sight better. The other thing I should have done was use a chopping board, so that I had a flat carrot surface to start out with. Laziness is a terrible affliction.

The turtle didn’t notice though. He had a great time. Carrots are the perfect size for little hands. Potatoes are too awkward and unwieldy for little hands. And the only ones in the house are the size of footballs. And carrots have the added bonus of doubling as a musical instrument. Magic.

Oddly enough, the carrots are the only crafty ‘tool’ we have used that haven’t made it into his mouth. Paint, paintbrushes, sponges, play dough, salt dough, markers, crayons, and chalk all had to be tasted. Carrots didn’t. we did some ‘painting’ with whipped cream and grits at his class the other week and he didn’t try to taste them either. Odd.

Anyway, here are the results of our carrot painting.

See, there are a couple of hearts in there somewhere. Folded in half, card made. Well, we might have to do some sticker/glitter business to them. And write “Happy Valentine’s Day” on them, so that Granny and Grandma know what they are, and can treasure them forever. So that I don’t end up swimming in paaaaintings. Crafty!

Our last batch of paintings were used to make a Thank You card. For an unexpected Christmas gift. Yes, Christmas. No, I have not posted it yet. The glitter is still drying. I had intended just to cut out a heart from one of the paintings, but he did three, and I’m swimming already, so I cut out 5 hearts and made a flower. It didn’t turn out too badly. I’ll post it tomorrow. Or Saturday. Soon, anyway.

Oh dear! I just realised that it’s Grandad’s birthday tomorrow. Waaaaaaaaaaah! We’ll have to get the paint out again. And definitely make it to the post office by Saturday. What will we get him? Oh no! Waaaaaaaaaaaaah!

For more Valentines’ craft ideas with your little ones, head over to The Madhouse who hosts the Children’s Craft Showcase.

3 Responses to “Paaaaaaaaint!”

  1. TheMadHouse February 4, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Wow, what a cool card, it looks brill. I would be honoured if you would like to the childrens craft showcase on the blog, as it is all about valentines http://themadhouse-themadhouse.blogspot.com/2010/02/childrens-craft-showcase-valentine.html

    • turtleturtleturtle February 4, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

      Oh, I was going to leave a comment on yours to ask if I could, before I got distracted by nappies and whatnot. I’ll do it as soon as we finish playing trains.
      Thanks!

  2. Cathy at nurturestore February 4, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Hi! Beautiful paintings. Glad you had fun.

Leave a Reply

