TV!

10 Feb

Ok, I admit it, the turtle watches TV. More than I would like sometimes, but I am the only one who can sort that out. Sesame Street, and Thomas are the main staples. And sometimes The Wonder Pets – like yesterday when he wouldn’t wake from his nap and it was gone 5 o’clock. I put on The Wonder Pets and turned them up fairly loud. Up he sat, like a bullet. Said “duck, turtle, uh oh!” and sat and watched it for ten minutes while he woke up fully. So, yes, TV has a place in our house. When Mammy wants to have a shower it’s particularly useful.

But…

Yesterday evening we went out for dinner. To Olive Garden. An Italian restaurant chain. The turtle was his usual self. Eating all the croutons in sight, washing them down with his own weight in pasta – “Paaata”. Now don’t get me wrong, he’s not brilliantly behaved or anything like that. He was eating crayons, throwing straws, shouting and roaring a small bit, the usual. He was grand though. Didn’t disturb anyone. Or poke anyone’s eye out with a flying fork. He was just a small child in a restaurant.

In came another small child. With what looked like his mother, a couple of aunts, and maybe a grandfather.  The small child in question was 22 months. I know because the hubby talked to them. He’ll talk to anyone, that man. Anyway, what got me on this tangent about TV and made me let slip admit the fact that we do actually watch it (I know you all thought we were constantly painting, going to the beach and digging holes in the garden) is that they had a little portable dvd player with them. In the restaurant. And their small child spent the entire time watching it. Watching that Michael Jackson thing. The documentary/film. The entire time. Not eating. Not throwing crayons. Not interacting with what looked like his family members. Nothing. Just watching TV.

Is it just me? Or does that not seem wrong? And a little sad.

4 Responses to “TV!”

  1. Janine February 11, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    I keep reading your posts while I’m in work and unable to comment, but I was suitably appalled at the DVD player in the restaurant. Noooo. And discipline for a one-year-old? Nooooo.

    • turtleturtleturtle February 12, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

      Wait until I tell you about the conversation I was inadvertently party to a while ago, where a group of mothers lamented, positively lamented the fact that it was illegal (in Florida) to wash a child’s mouth out with soap.
      People are weird.
      Thanks for dropping by!

      • Janine February 12, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

        What? WHAT? WWHHAATTT?

  2. turtleturtleturtle February 16, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    I know! You’re thinking “What am I going to do for discipline when I retire to worship at the feet of Mickey Mouse? How will I control my child, if not by pouring poisonous substances into his mouth?”
    Seriously though, how could anyone think that law was”wrong”?
    People are weird.

Leave a Reply

