“Shoes, shoes, shoes!”

22 Feb

The cry of “Shoes” used to make me giggle, because it meant that the turtle was trying on my shoes. Now though, I cringe. Because now it means that I have taken his shoes off (to change a nappy or get in the bath or walk on the beach, anything really) and he is having a conniption fit to get them back on. Removal of a jacket, pants, socks, whatever, gets the same reaction. And only for the past week. I mean, it’s not that long ago that I was griping about him pooping in the hubby’s shoes. For a while there, I thought he would be going to school naked. Now, I can’t change his nappy or even get him to sit on the potty. Well I can, but it takes a lot out of me. A LOT.

I just don’t understand it. I know that it’s probably a phase and that I have to ride it out, but I just don’t understand it. I suspect that it’s because we’ve been going out and about so much lately. He knows that if he has no shoes on he’s going nowhere. Ditto for pants, socks, and lately his jacket. I may have to hide his shoes. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

In the meantime, this is proving highly effective, as a coping strategy!

2 Responses to ““Shoes, shoes, shoes!””

  1. TheMadHouse February 23, 2010 at 4:09 am #

    The minimads loved this, thank you. My boys dont like shoes, so cant help you there I am afraid!!

    • turtleturtleturtle February 23, 2010 at 9:55 am #

      It would seem that it was originally a Eurovision song – in 1980. And there are more songs. If things are particularly bad we watch them all. You can’t stay stroppy when you’re watching dancing penguins, even if you are a toddler.

Leave a Reply

