Ooooowww!

27 Feb

You would think, moving somewhere tropical (Florida is tropical, right?) would mean no more colds, flus or runny noses. It’d be all about sunning yourself (if you weren’t allergic to the sun), or complaining about the heat. Sadly, this is not the case. It is a bit nippy, nowhere near the horrendous weather they’re having in the northeast, but bad for Florida nonetheless. The fruit and the flowers are all dying. And I, I have the worst cold I’ve ever had. Ever. My sinuses are so inflamed or swollen or something that I have a toothache. I sh*t you not. A toothache so bad that I braved the dentist for the first time in 20 years. And my teeth are fine! Woohoo! Some small cavities and gum disease, but nothing that can’t be fixed relatively easily. Woohoo! I still have a blooming toothache though. Slightly improved by decongestant medicine.

Could the timing be worse? Not really. Tonight there is an Awards Banquet we are going to (probably). And Monday we’re off to South Carolina to visit the in-laws. So this time I’ve spent languishing on the couch meant there was no pedicure or haircut for the banquet. And no gathering of mental strength for the visit to the in-laws (and I need all of the strength I can muster). Happily, I have been able to muster the physical strength to clean the house up a little this morning. I hate going away and coming back to a dirty house. So the house has to be clean and the laundry done. I suppose I can gather the mental strength on the journey up there. If this toothache ever goes away. Who knew toothaches were so debilitating?

Right, I’m off to shake out my $10 dress and find my handbag.

2 Responses to “Ooooowww!”

  1. TheMadHouse February 27, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Yep my mum and bro got back and they all had to buy jumpers!!

    • turtleturtleturtle March 1, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      You should see the Floridians – hats, scarves, gloves, puffy jackets, the whole rig out. It’s not that cold!

Leave a Reply

