Getting a grip

30 Mar

We’ve been having a rough couple of days, me cleaning like a woman possessed and the turtle just being a bit moany, whingy and clingy. And I’m irritable because every time I look around something I have just sorted out is in a big fat mess again.

It took me until about 3pm yesterday to get a grip on myself. That was when the rain cleared and I thought “We should go to the beach”. But we got a bit sidetracked before we even left the house and spent a good hour reading in the turtle’s tent ($10 from Ikea, we couldn’t leave it behind! We really shouldn’t be allowed out). So we never got to the beach, but that hour upstairs, away from all of the things I had to do, was like a tonic. I think I’ll be spending more time in the tent.

So today, there are still loads of things around here that I could/should be doing. But I won’t be. I’m going to pack us a bag and we’re going to go to the park and then maybe the beach. We’re as well to get what fun in while we can, before the visitors come with their “Be careful”s; “It’s too hot”; “It’s too cold”; “It’s too sunny”; “No”; “No”; “NOO!”; “Get down”; “Stop”; “Eat this”; “Say (some kind of randomness)”; “Turtle!”; “Turtle!”; “TURTLE!” ad infinitum. Sometimes I thank God that he’s heedless.

So a carefree morning is almost certainly needed. Maybe that will dissipate the dread that is still building. I live in hope.

One Response to “Getting a grip”

  1. TheMadHouse March 30, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Oh I so understand, we have one of those tents and this post is the kick up the backside I need to get it out

Leave a Reply

