Dear so and so….

23 Apr

Dear Icelandic volcano (who’s name no one can pronounce),

If you could please stop spurting ash all over Europe, I would really appreciate it. Wednesday, you can go back to doing whatever you like. But if I could get to the other side of the Atlantic, relatively unscathed with little or no delay, I would be eternally grateful and would promise most sincerely not to ever spurt ash all over you.

Yours,

Worried, even if there is no real reason anymore.

*****************

Dear random people “down the town”,

I would love it, love it, if you would stop giving my son lollipops, ice-creams, and other bits and bobs of confectionery. He’s not used to that much refined sugar. As a matter of fact, he has had more sugar this week than he has had in the entire rest of his life combined. I’m starting to worry about his teeth. And beginning to wonder if the only way I can avoid all of the sugar is to keep him in the house because it doesn’t matter what I say, none of ye listen to me.

Yours,

Dancing around in silent frustration like a lunatic.

*****************

Dear Me,

Stop swearing, for f*ck’s sake! You can blame being in Ireland all you want, but keep it up and your son’s first swear word WILL be your fault,

Cop on to yourself.

*****************

Dear Reader (s?)

Visit 3bedroombungalow and join in.

It’s fun!

*****************

3 Responses to “Dear so and so….”

  1. Plan B April 23, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    Nah! We love the volcano. We live under the Heathrow flight path….. I got my first lie-in in five years this weekend….

    Good luck with the swearing though – I’m working a silent campaign to convince my parents that a toddler swearing is cute. Don’t know if it’ll work, but it’s got to be worth a try hasn’t it?!

    • turtleturtleturtle April 23, 2010 at 9:30 am #

      There’ll be no lie-ins for me until after we land. And perhaps not even then.
      My parents already think toddler swearing is cute and that “everyone does it”. It’s the ILs I’ll have to worry about. They’re American, so I might just be able to convince them that he’s saying something entirely different, it’s just the “accent” he picked up while he was in Ireland.

  2. anka April 23, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    I love Ireland, even from far away. And swears in Ireland have a special something, maybe because of the accent. But do cop on to yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

