Negating the negativity

24 Apr

You know you’re an adult when you’re in your parents’ house, longing to go “home”. I am. I’m an adult. And I want to go home. Not this minute, but Tuesday, as scheduled. Volcanoes, ash clouds and airport madness permitting. I’m ready though. I know it’s wrong to “wish your life away” but I wish it were Tuesday and we had landed in Orlando already. No further into the future, because of the wrongness of wishing your life away, but just far enough into the future to make me feel a bit calmer. I’m not entirely sure why I tie myself up in knots over these types of things, because there is absolutely nothing I can do. Doesn’t stop me breaking out in a cold sweat, though, does it?

So, to negate all of the negativity here are some things I’m enjoying about being here:

  • people actually understanding what I am saying. “Divided by a common language” and all of that. But it’s not just linguistic though, is it? It’s cultural. And the differences are more pronounced when you’re speaking the same language.  Weird.
  • seeing the turtle interacting with so many different people, picking up new words like a little sponge – my new favourite is “G’luck” said instead of goodbye, as is the Irish fashion.
  • chocolate and crisps. American chocolate is rotten. And you can call them “kisses”, but really, that doesn’t make them taste any less like vomit. And crisps, there are only three or four flavours over there. Honestly. What’s that all about? And no, I don’t like corn chips or tortilla chips or whatever they’re called, so they’re not counted. Proper salt and vinegar. Yum.
  • TV. I just like Irish (and British) TV better. Unapologetic vulgarity has a lot to be said for it. Beeping? What’s the point? I also (perhaps perversely) like the fact that I can’t help but be well-informed because there aren’t that many channels, and it takes a bit of work to avoid the news and current affairs programs. While NAMA and the bankers and their pensions may be a bit annoying, at least I know what’s going on and am not relying on Facebook for “news”. I like being “informed” and really must make more of an effort.
3 Responses to “Negating the negativity”

  1. TheMadHouse April 24, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    Tell you what Mrs, I would be more than happen to send you a monthly staff of dairy milk if you send herseys peanut butter stuff – mail me if you like and we will set it up!

    on the TV front, what is it with thre fracking, doh it does my head in

  2. BigMamaCass April 26, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    That is so rough. Where is home? Where are you now?

    • turtleturtleturtle April 26, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

      Right now I’m in Ireland. Tomorrow I fly back to Florida. Next month I move to California.
      I’m dizzy thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

