Life skills

13 May

Tell us about an important life skill you’ve learnt, and a situation in which you’ve used it.

I have been pondering this for a while. A life skill. That I have. I mean I must have some. Here I am, living, fairly successfully. So, what are they?

UNICEF, UNESCO and WHO lists 10 core life skill strategies and techniques as :

  1. Problem solving
  2. Critical thinking
  3. Effective communication skills
  4. Decision-making
  5. Creative thinking
  6. Interpersonal relationship skills
  7. Self-awareness building skills
  8. Empathy
  9. Coping with stress
  10. Self-management skills

This at least is according to cursory search on Google.

It’s motherhood, isn’t it. All of those life skills are the skills you need to be a mother. Undoubtedly, I had most of them before the day that changed my life forever, but whether I knew how to apply them? Well that is a different question entirely. I imagine it this way: life gives you “skills” in the form of puzzle pieces. Motherhood shows you how those pieces fit together. Some days they don’t all fit. Other days they do. When they do, well, life is rosy. When they don’t? The skill I use is “go to bed and cover your head and don’t get up ’til Monday”!

Life is challenging. My skills need honing. But looking at that list gives me hope. I have those skills. I just need to use them more effectively. That’s when life will be truly peachy!

2 Responses to “Life skills”

  1. Josie @Sleep is for the Weak May 16, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    Goodness this is so insightful! I have to go read it again now.

    Love it.

  2. Michelle (Utterlyscrummy) May 16, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Fab post! So insightful and so true. Brilliantly articulate. xx

Leave a Reply

