Time

10 Jun

Tiiiiiiime, is on your side, yes it is….

Tiiiiiiiiiiiime………..

Do you ever do this? Push your toddler away when you’re on the computer, reading, watching TV, knitting, whatever. And they come back. And you push them away again. And again and again and again. Ad infinitum. Until someone gets mad and has a tantrum – usually me.

I. Just. Don’t. Have. TIME. For. MYSELF!!

Waaaaaaaaaaaaah!

That was how this morning went.

Then I put down the knitting and the coffee for five minutes and played with him. And you know what? We both had a better time. No one cried. Not even me.

So time for myself may well continue to be elusive for many a year, but maybe, for now, if I make time for us then that time for myself will come sooner than I think?

Enjoying the time we have, that’s the important thing. No matter who it is for.

Written for Sleep is for the Weak‘s writing workshop. Prompt 5, Time.

2 Responses to “Time”

  1. isadori June 10, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    So true.

  2. Josie @Sleep is for the Weak June 13, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    This is a VERY familiar scenario in our house too. And yes, just like you I’m learning just to stop and give five minutes, in faith I will get it back.

    It usually works too!

Leave a Reply

