A birthday party?

1 Jul

The Turtle will turn 2 in the middle of July. There are no family members nearby (and airfares are prohibitively expensive when you’re flying from Ireland). We have no friends (here, I mean. We do have friends in other places). The hubby does though, from work. People we’ve never met. He is of the opinion that we should invite them and their families over for a barbeque/birthday party. I’m not a fan. I think it’s his birthday, it should be about him, not random strangers and their offspring who happen to be in our house. Friends and family are one thing. Strangers another. I know the hubby wants him to have a “party”, but really, what’s the point when it’s people you don’t know?

I want to spend the day focused on him. But with balloons and a cake, to make it different from all of the other days 🙂 We have to have a cake, even though none of us really like it because the Turtle has taken to playing “Birthday cake” recently. He’ll make a “cake” out of sand and sing “Happy Birthday cake to you…”

So cake, balloons, and presents. What more will a small boy need?

Nothing, right?

I’m not turning us into a family of recluses, am I?

2 Responses to “A birthday party?”

  1. isadori July 1, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    I’d want the same without your excellent excuse of not knowing anyone nearby!

    • turtleturtleturtle July 2, 2010 at 9:08 am #

      I think I feel bad because we don’t know anyone nearby. If I did I wouldn’t be that bothered. (If that makes any sense at all.)

Leave a Reply

