Another meal plan

29 Jul

I didn’t do one at all last week. And if you pressed me I wouldn’t be able to tell you what we ate. Chicken, probably. Curry, likely. Other than that, not a clue.

Must do better.

I had notions of telling you how we got on with the new recipes we had tried. But I have kind of forgotten. Here’s what I remember:

Friday: Chicken stirfry with rice – no idea. None.

Saturday: Sausage and pasta – God but I’m sick of this. I’m not going near another sausage again. I feel like I’m always eating this. I can’t be though, can I? I know I didn’t eat it last week. The Turtle didn’t either.

Sunday: Gyoza (Japanese style wontons) – According to the Hubby “the best thing you make”, thanks for that! It takes ages though. My folding skills are under par.

Monday: Crockpot chicken, green peppers and onions with egg noodles – tasted good but it was awfully greasy. The Turtle would have nothing to do with it. Nothing.

Tuesday: Spaghetti bolognese – a firm favourite with the boys. I’m not really a fan.

Wednesday: Sesame chicken and leek with rice – deliciousness.

Thursday: Pork satay – I had the wrong kind of curry paste. I sent the hubby to the shop with the Turtle and received a panicked call “Where is it? The Turtle is crying. He wants birthday cake. There are no staff in the shop” … hrrmmm. I sent him to a different shop by himself later that evening. He found it. But apparently it was an unreasonable thing to request from the shop. Delicious, nonetheless. And now that we have all the ingredients, making it will be easier for all concerned. Especially me.

Ok, on to this “week’s” plan. It’s not really a week. I have planned as far as the Hubby’s next four day break. Humph!

Wednesday: Tri-tip (so, so good. And easy, if a little expensive).

Thursday: Moroccan fish a la Jamie Oliver (I got his Food Revolution book for myself out of a gift token from the ILs. Liking it so far.)

Friday: Lemon chicken (love it)

Saturday:Spaghetti bolognese (a winner with the other two)

Sunday: Gyoza (the Hubby will be here to wrangle while I practice putting these together with ever increasing speed! Hahahaha. They are good though, and cheap to make. Yum!)

Monday: Lasagne (Hubby loves it. Every time I make it the white sauce turns out like wallpaper paste. Not this time though. Ahem.)

Tuesday: Salmon and green beans (I noticed we eat a lot of meat. Then again, wandering around the supermarkets here you would never think we were on the edge of the ocean or that the oceans were being fished dry.)

Wednesday: Chili (because I like it and we haven’t eaten enough minced meat this week! Although I can’t find red chilis anywhere. What’s with that?)

Thursday: Pork and noodles

And that’s it. Subject to change due to the whims and temperamentality (No I don’t care that this is not a word!) of  the chef.

Anyone for pizza? They deliver . . .

Leave a Reply

