Looking up …

4 Aug

I’ve been feeling a bit down lately. Isolated. Having no one but a toddler to talk to for 20+ hours a day can get you down. I suppose I didn’t really have anyone to talk to in Florida either, but it felt like the Hubby was around more. Here he’s just not. Maybe an hour each side of his shift. We don’t even get to have dinner together. Breakfast sometimes, but that’s about it.

I don’t like the person I have become over the past few weeks. Irritable. Angry. Shouty. Not the mother I want to be. Or the wife. Or the person.

But it’s hard. I know I need to get out and meet people, but how can you do that if you don’t like who you are?

This is worse than being a teenager.

However I have found that a teenager with (somewhat) adult sensibilities can motivate themselves to get out of the house. Which is what I did today. I found a group of mothers on the internet and I got up off my ass and met them. Not only that, I cycled the four miles (or more) to the park. I meant to cycle back home again, but there was no way. No way. I called the Hubby to come and collect us before he went to work (see, there is something positive to be said for shift work! )

The group looks promising. They have lots of different activities all over the city, so I won’t have to kill myself cycling for miles and miles. And everyone was friendly. So yippee!

The Turtle liked playing with “the kids” too. (It’s funny to hear him refer to other children as kids, so cute!) He doesn’t get to do that often, or ever really. Maybe he’ll make a friend who isn’t Mammy.

2 Responses to “Looking up …”

  1. skippedydoodah August 6, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    Yay for a friendly group – crazily hard to find…

    Hey, I’ve tagged you on me ol’ blog Mrs Turtle: http://skippedydoodah.wordpress.com/2010/08/06/8-more-things/

    Hope you’re ok. x

    • turtleturtleturtle August 18, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

      Thanks for the tag. Makes me feel popular! 😉
      I’m working on it, at the speed of smell, but diligently, just the same!

Leave a Reply

