Playdates

11 Aug

I have found a Moms group that is actually quite fun and everyone seems nice. I’m not entirely convinced that I’m cut out for hanging out with mothers though. I may well be too judgmental. Or something. A one year old in a time out? Really? And berating an 18 month old for kicking the ball instead of throwing it (or vice versa), what’s that about? And all of the shouting? And the tone? Aaargh!

I’m not perfect. I do shout. Often. But not in that hateful, grating tone. I have resorted to time outs. Mainly for my own benefit. I have however, realised that punishing a child for my own frustrations is more than a little bit wrong. So I’m trying to phase them out. It’s no use punishing him because I’m angry.

The Turtle seems to enjoy it though. He’s coming out of his shell. He used to be really confident around other kids. Until he had a few run ins. And we moved. And the Hubby started working nights. All of which seems to have contributed in making him a bit clingy and unsure of himself.

If it helps my boy come out of his shell again. Back to exuding confidence from every pore, we’ll be going to many, many more playdates. They’re not bad people, or even bad parents. It’s just that when you meet people and know them only as parents, it’s a bit weird. Or is that just me?

One Response to “Playdates”

  1. TheMadHouse August 11, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    I so agree with you on this, we went to toddler groups but never made any friends at any. However the boys enjoyed going, ehich made it all worthwhile

Leave a Reply

