Aha!

25 Sep

Mornings around here have been a little fraught, fractious and flippin’ nightmarish of late. And I couldn’t figure it out. The Turtle is usually such an easygoing little fella. But the Hubby has been working long hours and try as I might I cannot get everything done on my own. Previously I had sh@g all to do in the mornings. Well, there were things to be done, but nothing obvious. And when things don’t obviously need doing, I leave them until nap time. But now there are dishes and laundry and sweeping and all manner of things. So I have been haphazardly trying to get things done before they overwhelm me and come crashing down around me. The Turtle does not like This. At. All. It eats into our fiddle faddling around time. He wants to read books and play with puzzles. He doesn’t understand Mammy’s “Just give me a minute” growled though gritted teeth. If anything, it makes him more fractious. Which makes me? Well, more of a growling menace. Then we both end up in tears. And nothing gets done. Nothing.

So, I am resolving to spend at least an hour every morning doing Turtle-led things, before I start looking around, twitching at all of the things that need doing. And I will not lose my marbles when he is under my feet, clamouring for attention (not as much as I do now anyway). I will play with him and go back to whatever I was doing later. Unwashed dishes do not suffer from a lack of attention. Small children do.

I started this regime this morning. I was playing with stickers at 6:30 this morning. Afterwards the Turtle went off about his business and I got on with mine. Goodness but things were easier. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep it up. Hopefully!

2 Responses to “Aha!”

  1. Tammy Hanna September 26, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Snap. I think I might just try this myself.

  2. TheMadHouse September 26, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    It does help to be relaxed, plus I always gave the boys a duster and let them follow me cleaning etc

Leave a Reply

