The wonders of a lie-in

7 Oct

I had one this morning. One of those now almost mythical creatures. The lie-in. I didn’t get up until almost 8am. Don’t get me wrong, I was woken at 5:30. And kept awake until nearly 6:30. But then the Hubby came home and I got to stay in bed. Laying there in that place, half way between sleep and wakefulness. Ahhhh. Heavenly. Then a shower. Upon waking. Not half way through the day – which necessitates getting dressed for a second time when it is so hard to do so the first bloomin’ time. Aahhh.

And do you know what happens when Mammy gets almost enough sleep and wakes up feeling almost human? Do you?

CRAFTING!

Hurrah!

Of course, half-way through I wonder what I was thinking. But fun was had by all.

We bought the little plywood Jacko’Lantern at a craft store for about $1.50! We coloured it in with crayons yesterday. Boredom set in with that relatively quickly. So today we put sellotape on it to make designs or stripes or something. Added interest? Then we painted it and peeled off the tape. The finished product (which I forgot to take a picture of) is quite astounding and will be adorning the front door as soon as I figure out the best way to hang it.

I must confess that I wouldn’t let the Turtle have any other colours. Just orange. Otherwise it would have turned to mud you see. I hate that little control freakery bit of my personality. But I just couldn’t do it. I wanted one orange Jacko’Lantern. Just one. I let him have free rein with the paint and a cardboard pumpkin. Then we brought out the glue and the “fuzzies”. In for a penny, in for a pound!

And he only ate one mouthful of paint. No glue or fuzzies were ingested (that I saw). Progress!

There was however, so much paint residue in the bath that I thought it was sand.

One Response to “The wonders of a lie-in”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel October 8, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    Brave soul, Mom. I used to do such things in my mommy times. Finger painting was my passion, once or twice. Ha! Trips to the library were fun, too, with less cleanup. Turtle is livin’ the life! I think orange only was a good idea, but I am somewhat a control freak, too. After all…

Leave a Reply

