Things done

7 Oct

I am absolutely useless when it comes to “To Do Lists”. I mean, I can make them with the best of them. Colour co-ordinate them. Decorate them with stickers and stars and what not. Beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous. When it comes to doing things off them? Absolutely useless. Somewhere, in the deep recesses of my brain there are some cells that equate making a list with actually doing the task. So if I make the list there is almost a guarantee that whatever is on it will never be done. Ever.

But a good way to buoy my confidence? Is to list out the things I have actually done. It helps to consolidate all of the things left to do in my mind. Somehow. I’m not entirely sure how it works. But it does. So here goes:

  • the curtains are made and hung in the guestroom
  • the shower curtain and bathmat have been washed
  • the hoovering and mopping have been done
  • the nets have been washed and rehung
  • the insides of the windows have been washed
  • a modicum of dusting has been attempted
  • the toilets are clean
  • surfaces have been scrubbed
  • mirrors are sparkly (for now)
  • the kitchen tables have been freed from the random bits and bobs that always accumulate on them.
  • I’m more or less on top of the washing
  • I have bought more towels (and shampoo)

But there’s still so much to do. So much. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhh!

And I have about twenty people coming over tomorrow nigh for “kids’ movie night” – my attempt to get through the horror of the hubby working four nights in a row (arranged before I knew the in-laws were coming).

Waaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!

6 Responses to “Things done”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel October 7, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    Ah… The years of raising children are the best and the most difficult. You have my sympathy for not having time to sit down and relax. You may want to take twenty minutes to sit down and relax in whatever way will relieve your stress and then write it on your list. Done. Promise yourself that you will include it in everyday’s plans and it will help you feel that your much deserved little respite will come.I used to write a to-do list and in the middle of it would be my half-time reward. And, I would allot time slots to each chore. If I was ahead of time on any chore, I would add extra minutes to my reward time. Ah…:)What a nice post – Things Done! Thank you for sharing.

    • turtleturtleturtle October 7, 2010 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks! Usually there is not such a hive of activity. But the in-laws are coming, so I feel that the house should be “just so”.
      I bring it on myself, I’m sure. But I cannot be stopped!

  2. Janine October 7, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Sounds like a pretty impressive amount of stuff done to me. I lost my to-do list about three months ago and haven’t yet encountered any dire consequences. I have been known to make not-to-do lists. All those things at the back of your mind that you think you should do, and therefore add to your feelings of anxiety, but which in actual fact you will probably never get round to and won’t be any the worst off for not doing anyway.

    (I do think your time would’ve been better spent burning the nets though… My pet hate.)

    • turtleturtleturtle October 7, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

      I would burn them too, if they were mine! And if there weren’t some weird rule about having “window coverings” in our “community”.

      • Janine October 8, 2010 at 12:21 am #

        Makes you wonder what people are getting up to behind them!

      • turtleturtleturtle October 8, 2010 at 7:28 am #

        It’s like people who think someone is always looking in the window at them (the Hubby and MIL). Are they always looking in the window at other people???

Leave a Reply

