Salt dough ornaments

22 Oct

“We” (well, I) decided we should give salt dough a go again. Surely this time we won’t end up with door stop sized ornaments, I thought. It’s just like play dough. How hard can it be? Hahahaha! I went with the easy 2 cups of flour, one cup of salt, and up to 1 cup of water. I kneaded it. And kneaded it. And kneaded it. I chilled it. And kneaded it. A fair bit. I read that salt dough should be well kneaded. I’m not sure if I went overboard though. Because it went a bit gloopy. Plopping all over the place.

The Turtle got bored. The Hubby and I got more and more determined to produce something presentable. That would dry in less than a week. And be cute hanging in the window for Hallowe’en (well that might have just been me). And you know what, 30 minutes later we ended up with a few fairly presentable bits. And they only took four hours to dry (perhaps less, I forgot the oven was on).

And this evening we painted them. With poster paints, even I’m not brave enough to let a two year old loose with the acrylics. Presumably once they are sealed they’ll be grand.

(And it may be wrong, but I’m hoping that trying salt dough and retching like a sick dog will deter the Turtle from trying to eat the play dough. It’s probably a vain hope though.)

(Edited to add the results! Sealed with Mod Podge, the sparkly kind!)

6 Responses to “Salt dough ornaments”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel October 23, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Great salt dough ornaments! I wouldn’t blame Turtle for tasting. With any luck he won’t like the taste. Ha!

  2. TheMadHouse October 24, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    These are fantastic. You do so many great things with Turtle. You and I would get along so much, I often wished we lived closer. How are you?

    • turtleturtleturtle October 25, 2010 at 11:25 am #

      How cute are you! Thank you very much!
      Blogging is weird like that, isn’t it. You “meet” people you like and then you’re sad that you can’t meet them.
      Not doing too badly at the moment. Getting over one set of visitors and preparing for another. Busy. Busy.
      You?

  3. Adele crozier October 24, 2010 at 6:41 am #

    They are lovely and would make fab decorations gorgeous for Halloween!
    Adele
    wwww.monkeyingaroun1.blogspot.com

  4. Red Ted Art October 25, 2010 at 5:30 am #

    Oh your ornament tree looks FABULOUS! Love all the different shapes and colours! Who said autumn was gloomy!! Not So!

    Maggy
    PS do come and visit Kids Get Crafty link up – every Wednesday! Latest here: http://www.redtedart.com/2010/10/20/kids-get-crafty-chalk-ghosts-satsuma-lanterns/

    • turtleturtleturtle October 25, 2010 at 11:22 am #

      Thank you!
      I do visit you regularly, but can never think of anything to contribute 😦
      Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

