Giving it my all…

24 Nov

Thanksgiving is the only actual holiday we’ll be spending together this year, so I’m throwing my all at it. Well, you know, all that an Irish woman who has experienced Thanksgiving once before can. And don’t tell the Hubby, but the last one wasn’t that hot. I have a thing about styrofoam plates you see. Especially the ones with the little prison partitions on them. What’s the point in spending hours and hours on cooking a meal and then serving them up like that? With plastic cutlery? And no, there weren’t 50 people, there were 6. Bleurgh.

This year there will be plates and knives and forks and enough food for 50 people. Turkey, ham, dressing (that’s Southern for stuffing, I think!), butternut squash gratin (instead of candied sweet potatoes, which I can’t even think about), lemony green beans and cranberry sauce (which I should perhaps have made a start on today, seeing as I have never made it before!! I’m only making it because  the Hubby et al like to get a can of it, plop it out and slice it with the can marks still on it and it turnsmy stomach). There’ll be deviled eggs (a necessity, apparently), and a pumpkin pie too (which I hope turns out ok because all the recipes had canned pumpkins in them and I had to use up my turban one, so we’ll see).

We’ll eat until we feel sick. Then fall asleep in front of the tv.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

 

3 Responses to “Giving it my all…”

  1. TheMadHouse November 25, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Happy Thanksgiving, I dont get the food at all

  2. Carol Ann Hoel November 26, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    Great photos of a darling child. I like the pine cone turkeys! Lovely! All I had to make for Thanksgiving Day was sweet potatoes. I make my Grandma’s recipe with brown sugar, butter, and lemon sauce. Yummy and laden with calories. My brother prepared a splendid meal. There were only five of us. Your dinner sounds delicious and difficult to prepare. I hope you survive. I’m sure you will endure and have a blessed day with family and friends.

  3. Kelly B November 26, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Happy thanksgiving! Love the pine cone turkeys : )

Leave a Reply

