Resolved

30 Nov

My name is Turtle’s Mammy and I am a huffalump. Honestly, I am. I would have thought I was merely fat until I checked my BMI 😮 It would seem I have about 40lbs (3 & 1/2 stone) to lose before I get to the “overweight” category. And so I am resolved to eat less and exercise more. I have to. I thought I ate fairly healthily, but it would seem I have a rather unhealthy addiction to cheese. I also don’t drink any liquids that aren’t coffee or tea. And wholegrains are startlingly absent. I know this because I signed up for Weight Watchers online last week. (The thought of the meetings freak me out a bit, and what with the Hubby’s schedule I wouldn’t be able to attend every week anyway.) So I have been meticulously tracking my food intake and thinking about things before I eat them (although some bits and pieces seem to make their way to my mouth unbeknownst to me). And I’m not doing too badly. Even with my new penchant for wine (well, we are near the Santa Ynez valley!), I  lost 4lbs in the first week.  Whoop!! A small step, but a step nonetheless.

Another resolution? To exercise more. Not that I was doing much before. Chasing a toddler, but that was about it. So I have started the couch to 5k programme. Just. I’m 2/3 of the way through the first week. But I am determined. By February I may well be running 5k regularly. Eek! I tried running before but I didn’t know what I was doing. And running with someone who is a foot taller than you and runs regularly can be a bit demoralising. (You should see the Hubby run! He lifts his knees almost as high as my shoulders. I’m lucky I can lift mine off the ground!) The Hubby did come with me the first time, but I went by myself yesterday. I have to be able to motivate myself to go, otherwise I’ll get nowhere.

And I must get somewhere. I must get at least 40lbs away from where I am now.

Wish me luck!

One Response to “Resolved”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel November 30, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    I need to get more motivated. I’ve only slowed the gain. EEK! Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

