Let go

7 Dec

What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?
(Prompt Author: Alice Bradley)

Before I became a mother, when I was pregnant and thinking of these things, I thought “My child will watch very little television”; “S/he will not eat sweets (candy)”; “No fast food!!” etc etc. I was also under the misguided impression that I could avoid all plastic, noisemaking toys. Naturally enough we would live in a utopia of my own making. But utopias such as these don’t take other people into account. When you’re pregnant you think you can control the world. And you probably can. The mad hormones scare the bejaysus out of most people, but they wear out and you become worn out, so things slip. And you come to realise that your child is better off with a relaxed mother rather than one strung out over a bit of sugar.

Everything in moderation! Surely the human body is able to metabolize a bit of sugar. And  small children need calories to grow. And tv? Well, it’s educational. And it’s not tv if we watch it on the computer. Ahem.

So, over the past year I have let go of all of those “standards” I imposed on myself. I have a happy, healthy little boy. With the most wonderful imagination, despite all of the tv he watches. A boy who will choose carrots over fries a lot of the time. Chocolate though? He’s a man after my own heart when it comes to chocolate.

The thing is, when you sit down and think about how your life is going to be with your child (when they are abstract) you never factor in their personalities, do you? Because you can impose your will as much as you like, but their personality will be a factor, no matter what you do.

So I have let go of those mad ideals I had before he was born, because they were just that, ideals. And we plod on, taking things as they come.

Mostly.

 

4 Responses to “Let go”

  1. TheMadHouse December 7, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    What a great post, a reminder that being balanced is much better for all involved

    • turtleturtleturtle December 8, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

      Balance is as good a goal as any, I think. And it’s such a pliable goal 😀

  2. Jemma December 7, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Oh this post made me feel so much more relaxed after tormenting myself about the amount of TV/cake/biscuit the boy has had today. Thanks!

    • turtleturtleturtle December 8, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

      You have to look at it over the course of a week/month (or even a lifetime!) Whatever gets you through it 😉

Leave a Reply

