Comunity

8 Dec

Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

Since moving I have actually found a fairly good group of mothers. I find mothers a bit hard to be honest. I think, because in the scheme of things I haven’t been a mother very long. And moving around like this means that I never get to see how people I have known all my life parent their children. Because parenting is cultural and it is an amalgam of all of your life experiences. So when you meet a mother for the first time you don’t know where they are coming from, or indeed where they are going. It’s worse than a first date. You may well find one that is on your wavelength, but man does it take some hard work. Then your child starts hitting everyone he sees and you don’t know where you stand.

I’d like to develop these tentative friendships. Sometimes actual human contact is in dire need around here. It lets you breathe.


Leave a Reply

