Still going strong

14 Dec

So I may be a big quitter when it comes to “Reverberating” (and who can blame me), but I am pleased to report that the jogging and the weightloss (well, fingers crossed on that one!) are still going, with perhaps, a certain amount of gusto.Yes, gusto!

I am 9lbs down, and have completed week 3 of couch 2 5k. Yes, that’s right, I can “jog” for an entire 3 (consecutive!) minutes without collapsing in an absolute heap on the floor. In fact, I may have enough confidence now to go running along the street instead of the entirely deserted bicycle track over the road.

Another milestone for me in the whole “jogging” shennanigans is that I have gone on my own. Entirely on my own. I went with the Hubby a couple of times, but once I got a couple of weeks in, I realised that jogging with someone who does it all the time and who is an entire foot taller than you are means that whatever kind of cadence you may have achieved previously disappears completely. You start to get irritated by the sound of said giant jogger’s feet pounding away, drowning out the sound of your own. You forget what you are doing as you do it. It’s just unfeasible.

The Turtle is hugely supportive of this whole venture. “Let me out Mammy! Let me out!! I don’t like running! Maaaaaaaammmyyyyyy!” On and on and on. A good thing the huffing and puffing drown him out. Still, if I can keep this up, I might be able to keep up with him, for a few minutes a day, anyway. And that’s as good a goal as any. I am trying to play his mad running around in circles and whatnot games with him too. He likes running then.

I might be getting there. When I go on my own. Nothing to think about besides lifting my feet and puttingthem back down again. That and “What is that rustling in the bushes?” – cats, birds, dogs and lizards, all capable of making me jump out of my skin at three o’ clock on a sunny afternoon. Wimp? Me? Perhaps, little bit.

But a wimpy “runner” 😀

One Response to “Still going strong”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel December 15, 2010 at 6:44 am #

    I am IMPRESSED! My circumstances won’t let me leave my responsibilities long enough to run (I’d walk at my age – wouldn’t want to hurt those precious knees). I could walk around our parking lot. Well, I tried that. I got really bored. You’ve made me look at it in a different light, the light of 9 LBS.! Parking lot, here comes the fast walker! Have a blessed Christmas…

Leave a Reply

