My first Christmas cake

17 Dec

Look at her! Isn’t she a beauty?

Well, ok, she’s a bit flat and I have no idea what those green fruit are. And she’s a bit pale. But other than that? Not too bad at all. I mean I have no idea how it will taste, but after all of the effort (and most of that was just decoding the recipe) it had better be good. Or people should at the very least have the good grace to lie to me about it 🙂

Next stop, mince pies! And perhaps some gingerbread people!

3 Responses to “My first Christmas cake”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel December 18, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    I love fruitcake! It looks delicious. The recipe is quite challenging! You may have baked yours in a pan with a larger circumference. I’m sure it’s delicious. I’m older, but I’m not lying. I wish I could have a slice right now with my coffee. Blessings to you…

  2. Carol Ann Hoel December 18, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    I read your last sentence to say “older people” instead of what it really says, “or people”. This explains the strange phrase in my post “I’m older” but… Ha! I can’t read.

    • turtleturtleturtle December 18, 2010 at 7:56 am #

      They say we just read the first and last letters of things anyway, so you’re right either way.
      I’m pretty sure the pan was the right circumference (8 inches), I think it was the wrong flour. Apparently cream flour is just flour without a raising agent, so I thought “Grand, all-purpose it is!” but now I’m wondering. I’ll give it a couple of days to “rest” before I cut it.

Leave a Reply

