“Lullabies”

9 Jan

The Turtle’s bedtime routine goes something like this: pjs and milk downstairs, upstairs for toothbrushing, a story and some songs, and me sneaking away when he’s asleep. I love it (except when he wakes up as I am trying to sneak away. I don’t love that bit. I frequently swear). He reads along with his books and tells me the story of his day. Anything that has been bothering him tumbles out as he falls to sleep (hitting his friends, where Daddy is, things like that).

He then requests songs that I sing while he nods off. The most popular recently has been “Cockles and Mussels Mammy, cockles and mussels” or, as it is otherwise known “Molly Malone”. He loves it. I think we played it in the car at least 10 times in a row the other day.

Yesterday we were watching British One Hit Wonders on VH1. We turned it on just in time for The Boomtown Rats “I don’t like Mondays” and had a bit of a boogie. Then rewound it and boogied again and again and again. Which is why I was singing “I don’t like Mondays” last night. Over and over. I doubt that even “Sir Bob” has used it for a lullaby.

What’s the strangest one you have had to sing?

Give this one a try. Go on. You know you want to!

One Response to ““Lullabies””

  1. Tammy Hanna January 10, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Last night, Jake asked us to sing his Dad’s version of a song he heard on Something Special (cbeebies programme) where Daddy had replaced the words big fat bum for big bass drum. He didn’t want to hear the whole song, just the big fat bum bit.

Leave a Reply

