Similarities & Differences

5 Sep

It’s fun watching A’s personality develop. And it’s true what they say, every child is different. But there are similarities there too.

  • Daytime sleeps cannot be had in the crib. Not ever.
  • Baths are fun. Always.
  • Toes are hilarious.
  • Being bare bottomed is awesome.
  • And tummy time is over rated.

The main differences seem to be emerging as a result of me parenting differently. She lives in the sling*. Lives in it. Because it’s so much easier. Loading two kids into the car is hard enough, without having to heft the stroller in and out of the boot too.  Plus, we do a fair bit of off-roading and well, when I don’t have a buggy I don’t have to make that choice to abandon the small one to run after the big one. And I know she’s warm enough. I can feed her in it and when she’s in there I can deal with her needs and her brother’s. At. The. Same. Time. Awesomeness! That assuages the guilt I have when she is left to cry sometimes when we are at home. T wasn’t left to cry. Not that I remember. But then, we were living with my parents. First time grandparents are more attentive than first time parents. Infuriatingly so, if I remember correctly. Even though I doubt I would be that infuriated now. Delighted, more likely. Because the second one is different. You’re less proprietorial. You take help wherever you can get it.

You also don’t dress the second one in entire outfits. Co-ordinated and whatnot. They’re lucky to be clean. And pajama clad.

I’m also more confident with breastfeeding (partially because she is a 15lb beast at less than 3 months old). I’m not worried if she’s getting enough or feeding too much or any of those other mad things. She’s happy, so I’m happy. And she is happy. Another similarity!

This parenting malarkey is fun. Watching the personalities develop and seeing their relationship grow is so special (right now, I do realise that they are likely to fight like cats and dogs once the small one can walk and talk).

*A woven wrap, not a stretchy. The best parenting tool, in the world, ever!

Leave a Reply

